mamitis

Mama and me 2013So my mom came to visit last week. She stayed for six days and we did all of the usual things: got a pedicure, went shopping (she procured a fabulous dress to wear to my brother’s graduation in July but I, sadly, did not), went to the Easter Pageant at the Mesa temple, and stuffed ourselves with ALL OF THE FOOD. I loved having someone to pal around with all day and it was pretty much wonderful.

But then she left, and all of a sudden, things were terrible! I was lonely! Food was no fun with nobody here to invent strange and delicious combinations, and there was nobody who would spontaneously decide that we NEEDED a root beer float, immediately right now! I had piles of work to do and no motivation to do any of it! It was getting to be altogether too much.

So after a couple of days of moping around and generally being very unproductive, I decided that this was no time to be stoic and pulled out the big guns: the Nora Ephron guns. 1/4 of the way through Sleepless in Seattle, I began to feel a tiny bit better.

“That’s what I’m trying to tell you, what women are looking for: pecs and a cute butt.”
“What, you mean like, ‘He has the cutest butt?'”
“Yeah.”
“Where did I hear that recently?”
“Everywhere.”

You should also know that I have Dance with Me ready to play at a moment’s notice, so don’t be too concerned.

“He can pick me up any time he wants to.”
“Take a number, sister.”

I mean, if 1990’s Chayanne and Vanessa Williams don’t cheer you up, nothing will.

Leave a Reply

