en Europa: Paris (primera parte)

rue-cler

Notre Dame

Notre Dame

Stop #2: Paris, France! So here’s the thing: generally speaking, my vacation style is to cram as much as possible into each day (unless I’m at the beach, in which case my goal is to spend the majority of my time hanging out in a leisurely fashion). Unsurprisingly, I had an enormous list of sights and activities Josh HAD to experience. Another thing that was important to me this time around was to experience Paris’ amazing food scene. The last time I was there, as a student, my experience with Parisian food was basically limited to crepes from the stands + bread, fruit and cheese from the supermarket (yeah, ok, and lots of pastries… as proved by my roundroundround cheeks circa December 2007). Hence, I also had a very long list of restaurants gleaned from many hours spent on blogs and TripAdvisor.

Needless to say, we did a lot in Paris, but having a whole, glorious week there meant we were free to wander around instead of frantically sightseeing. I also adored our hotel in the 12th arrondissement, and having that little home base meant that by the end of the week (after finding a favorite boulangerie, fruit stand and laundromat in “our” neighborhood) we felt pretty close to local. You know, for tourists.

Paris la belle! She was just as lovely as I remembered.

On the left: honestly the only decent picture we got on the bateaux mouches (boat tour on the Seine). Super romantic, but night photography = not my strong suit.

On the left: honestly the only decent picture we got on the bateau mouche (boat tour on the Seine). Super romantic, but night photography = not my strong suit.

IMG_4452

paris-merci

IMG_4455

Just for fun, a side by side (left: 2007, right: 2013). The Rodin museum is my faaaavorite.

Just for fun, a side by side (left: 2007, right: 2013). The Rodin museum is my faaaavorite.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

