pa’ gente buena Chihuahua

Hello, people of my blog! In what is turning out to be a never-ending recap, today’s post brings you Holidays 2012: New Year’s Eve. At this rate, I’ll be writing about our Christmas vacation until next Christmas vacation.

Well, so, Josh had never been to Chihuahua (city) before. Ok, technically he had been once, but it was for my Abita’s funeral (my abuela Carolina, for those not in the know) a couple of years ago, and it was a very sad trip which I’m not counting. So, never. I know! The shame! We’ve been married for almost three years and we dated for two years before that! Alas, our trips to Mexico are usually pretty short, so we’d never made the time for the extra six hour trip (three hours each way). However, Chihuahua is where I spent a large amount of my childhood, between Christmas, Semana Santa, summer vacation and assorted weekend visits to my grandmother and family who lived there, and it just felt wrong that I’d never taken Josh.

So we went for New Year’s.

We still had to do the Cliffs notes version of a tour, but now I can sleep happy knowing that Josh has walked and slept in the same apartments that harbored my love for city living.

We spent December 31st eating and walking in el centro, and then we ended 2012 in the best way possible: eating and dancing with as much family as we could gather. And as we counted down to midnight, I looked around the table at all the gente “valiente, noble y leal” that surrounded me, and couldn’t help but agree with Pedro de Lille*: ¡que bonito es Chihuahua!

chihuas navidad

a picture that flattes no one

Chihuas

NYE 2012

the dancers; a rather unfortunate shot of my parents, but doesn´t Josh look dashing with that hat?

the dancers; a rather unfortunate shot of my parents, but doesn´t Josh look dashing with that hat?

*Pedro de Lille wrote the “Corrido de Chihuahua,” a song about how awesome the state of Chihuahua is. I’ve been referencing it throughout this post.

One comment


Leave a Reply

