un voto azul

Image

On November 6, 2012, I came home from work to find a small brown package wedged under our doormat. It was addressed to me, but I couldn’t remember ordering anything. Distractedly, I opened it as I pondered what to have for dinner before I went on my run. Josh was working late due to the election coverage, so it was just me for the evening.

I opened the package to find “Grace and Grit: My Fight for Equal Pay and Fairness at Goodyear and Beyond,” the book about Lilly Ledbetter’s fight for equal rights in the workplace.

“Did you order a book for me??” I texted Josh.

“Maybe…” he texted back, “I wanted you to have it today.”

Over the next few hours, I forgot all about my run (although I did NOT forget about dinner, please, let’s keep our priorities straight here). As the hours wore on and the votes were tallied I read page after page of my new book, shutting down Facebook and refusing to turn on the news (sorry Josh) as I took in the 262 pages of Lilly Ledbetter’s story.

So when, at 9:40 pm, I finished my book, closed it, and went to check my phone for the first time in a couple of hours, it seemed only fitting to see Josh’s exultant text: “Obama wins!!”

The Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Restoration Act was the very first bill President Obama signed on January 29, 2009. As a woman, a transnational migrant, and a (dual) citizen of the United States, I am so happy to have given him the chance to continue to do the work that he started.

One comment


Leave a Reply

